My afternoon with a Tuskegee Airman

Dr. Dempsey Morgan is also a proud member of Alpha Phi Alpha Fraternity Inc. Skee-Phi!

I believe we use the term “hero” too loosely these days.  Have you really ever stopped to think about what that word means? Websters defines a hero as:

A man of distinguished courage or ability, admired for his brave deeds and noble qualities.

When I think of Lt. Dempsey Morgan, I can’t think of a more fitting word to describe him. (Click here to see the story.)

I was so excited to learn that one of the country’s few living Tuskegee Airmen lives in Salem, Virginia.  I discovered this information, the week after seeing the movie “Red Tails”.  (If you don’t see any other movie this year, make seeing this one a priority.)

History, has taught us very little about the country’s most elite African American aviators.  It may have been a paragraph in my high school history book.

Lt. Morgan, was one of the original. Now, 92, he is still very sharp.  He remembers how many missions he flew, how many German plans he shot down in WWII.  I admire his courage to take on such a meaningful endeavor at a time when blacks in the military (and outside of the military) were thought of as second class citizens.  Even still, he put his country first like so many other blacks during that time.

He had hoped to stay in the military until it was desegregated but didn’t get that chance.

As I said, I admire his courage, but I also admire his intellect.  First, if you know anything about this airmen group, you know they were the best and the brightest.  But Dr. Morgan in particular had an impressive resume before he began to fly.  He’d already been to two universities by the time he was 20 and if you count West Point Military Academy, that makes three Higher Ed schools (but who’s counting).

Lt. Morgan has gone on to work with NASA and earned a PhD.  He’s also taught for 38 years in Asia and Africa in the field of physics and chemistry.

Our country is better because of men like him.  I’m just so grateful I got a chance to thank him myself.

One response to “My afternoon with a Tuskegee Airman

  1. I think it’s about time the world knows how very important other people in our Black History has not been recognized & the need to be pointed out in ythis world…Young people should know of Our Hero’s. They’ve paved the way. There is no corner yet left undone, that God has not given an Afro-American a chance of a life-time. We made this country…& we still haven’t got our Shine On. Love your work. Peace! 😉

Leave a Reply

