Walk Toward the Light (but what if you can’t find it?)

Reality Check.  Christmas is officially 10 days away and I’m nowhere near close to having all of my shopping done.  That sound about right doesn’t it?  So many of you tell me you’re in the same boat.  But let me out due you if I may.

I have a Christmas tree (CHECK).  Decorations for the tree (PARTIALLY CHECKED.  Because I’m such a perfectionist, I keep adding things or thinking of things to make my tree better).  Oh and the real biggie, only half of my tree has LIGHTS!  Every store in Roanoke is out!  I learned that this past Saturday like a lot of you Roanokers.  We seemed to keep bumping into each other.  Walmart, CVS, Kroger, Lowe’s, Walgreens…no lights!  I saw one guy at Lowe’s, rushed over to a Walgreen’s  thinking I’d get a leg up…he beat me there!  And we were both out of luck.  No lights!  What’s the deal?  Stores say they just didn’t get a huge shipment of White Christmas Tree Lights this year.  One guy said they’ve been selling them since April.  For real?  If you think I’m going to start shopping for Christmas in April, you’re the crazy one.  Not to panic!  My sister lives 5 hours away.   She’s delivering some lights this weekend but they’re not the traditional white bulbs, they’re a little larger.  They’re the only ones left in the stores where she lived.  (Insert Sigh Here).

Another thing I’ve noticed through all of this Christmas madness, retailers aren’t giving out boxes this year.  I spend $50, $150 for clothes and can’t get a gift box?  I’m told it’s just not in the cards.  It was an easy way for businesses to cut expenses, meanwhile mine are climbing by the second!  (Insert Sigh Here).

Oh well, it’s all about the joy of the season!  I’m wishing you and your families a very Merry Christmas.  And despite all the craziness, I still, very much remember, what this season is truly about!

3 responses to “Walk Toward the Light (but what if you can’t find it?)

  1. shirley allen-McCall

    Have you ever checked the tags on the Christmas Lights?…They are all made in China! wouldn’t it be great if we could start making them here, then they wouldn’t contain a lead warning!!!!

  2. I AM SO TIRED OF ALL THE UNRELIGIOUS PEOPLE TRYING TO FORCE THIER DISBELIEF ON US THAT LOVE THE LORD! OUR LAWS GIVE THEM THE RIGHT TO NOT BELIEVE, BUT THEY ALSO GIVE US THE FREEDOM TO WORSHIP IN THE WAY THAT WE WANT TOO! THEY HAVE GOTTEN THE IDEA THAT “FREEDOM OF RELIGION ” HAS BEEN TURNED INTO ” FREEDOM FROM RELIGION” NO ONE HAS TO PRAY AT ANY GIVEN TIME EVEN WHEN OTHERS ARE, IT IS THIER RIGHT TO KEEP EYES OPEN AND HEARTS CLOSED AS LONG AS THEY WANT TO, BUT THEY DO NOT HAVE THE RIGHT TO TRY TO KEEP EVERYONE ELSE FROM PRAYING , JUST BECAUSE THEY DO NOT WANT TO! PLEASE, LET’S GETR THIS THING IN THE RIGHT ORDER, AND STOP FIGHTING OVER OTHERS WANTS .

  3. I hope that this will give someone else the courage they need to stand up against the world, and the devil.

Leave a Reply

