New Years Resolution #1

Bedford resident Barbara Scott stakes out a street corner encouraging local citizens to buy American made products

So, I know I still have about a month to go, but this has been on my heart for the past few weeks.  I am really going to make more of an effort to start “Buying Local” or American made.  I was inspired last month when I did a story about a woman who was urging people in her community to shop at locally owned stores and/or buy local gifts for the Christmas holiday.  Then again today, another reporter did a story about another lady who is on a one-woman-crusade to encourage people to support the American economy.

I’ll be the first to admit, other than my food, buying local isn’t something I think about too much.  I’ve been impressed with the series “Made in America” on ABC World News with Diane Sawyer.  Through that, I’ve learned there are so many products like nails, beds and sheets that are Made in America.  You just have to look!  True, it may take a little more time to find and it might cost a few cents more; however, if we all did our part, how many people could we put to work here in our country where unemployment is a resounding 8.6%.?  I’m so tired of people blaming the President, Congress and even Wall Street for that matter.  While they all do share in the responsibility, so do we.  Why is it that we as individuals want to be so quick to pass the buck?

Let me be realistic.  I’m not going to buy only things made in this country, but I will do better.  I challenge you to do the same!

One response to “New Years Resolution #1

  1. Linda S. Freeman

    If all of us would make an effort to buy 1/3 of our Christmas ‘made in América’ what a difference that would make. Our economy would rise more people would go back to work . It would be amazing if all of us tried this, this Christmas would be a whirlwind. Come of Virginia lets do our part.

Leave a Reply

