I’m Sorry. What’s Your Name Again?

I would love to blame it on my age, but the truth is, I’ve always had a problem remembering names.
In my line of work, that’s not the best problem to have.  I meet people everyday, and everyone wants to be remembered, including me.

So let’s just get the apology out-of-the-way now.  Sorry!  Chances are, unless I’ve met you more than three times, you’re just going to get a simple “Hello, nice to see you” out of me.

I’ve done everything from playing the name game to name association, and yet I still come up miserably short when trying to remember people’s names.  It really is awful and trust me, I do feel awful.  I don’t like when people don’t remember my name and so I know others would expect the same courtesy.

You probably would never know if I saw you that I don’t know your name.  I tend to play it off pretty well.

I say all this to say, if our paths ever cross, please don’t take it personal if I can’t recall your name.

One response to “I’m Sorry. What’s Your Name Again?

  1. If that’s the worst problem you have to deal with you are profoundly fortunate. . I wouldn’t let it bother you. Most folks are not thin skinned about this I find.
    Enjoy your reporting.
    A cerebral attempt at wit. Did you hear about the man who was an insomniac, agnostic, dyslexic? He stayed up all night wondering if there was a dog.

Leave a Reply

