And Then A Hero Comes Along…

One last snapshot of Joy and I on the News7 anchor desk. We short women have to stick together!

A few weeks ago, Joy Sutton and I were honored at Fairview Elementary School during a black history program.  The program was to highlight African American Hero’s who are making a difference in the community.

Hollani & Joy honored at Fairview Elementary during Black History Month

Well, for the last 11 years one of my many hero’s (to the left of me in the photo) HAS been making a difference in the Roanoke Valley as a health reporter (she’s unofficially known in our newsroom as Dr. Joy).  Joy is my hero because simply put, she’s geniune.  With her, what you see is what you get.  She’s compassionate.  She helps others without being asked.  Joy always sees the good.  Never has a harsh word.  Never a negative attitude.  Even on her down days she always keeps that smile on (maybe a few less teeth but it’s there).

There are some folks in your life who you know you were born to meet.  For me, Joy is that person.  I truly believe I was supposed to move to Roanoke to meet her.  In such a short amount of time, she has had a tremendous impact on my life.

Unfortuantely for a lot of you, you won’t get to see her in your homes anymore.  For me, that’s the advantage of Joy being my friend!  (Not to rub it in or anything).  Infact, we both jokingly agree that we’ll probably get to see more of each other because  now, at least one of us has a 9-5, Monday  through Friday gig.  I’m so proud of Joy who is leaving WDBJ to become  a Marketing Director – overseeing several area hospitals.  The newsroom will never be the same I must say (without her loud sneezes and her tendency to burn popcorn – leaving the smell lingering for hours). 

So cheers to Joy as she begins the next chapter of her life.  I’m so grateful to her for making me want to be a better journalist (because the girl is solid), but for also making me a better person!

One response to “And Then A Hero Comes Along…

  1. Ronald Mondrey

    INARGUBLY ONE OF THE BEST LOCAL JOURNALISTS IN THE STATE OF VIRGINIA, AND UNQUESTIONABLY ONE OF THE PRETTIEST. JOY IS TRULY NEWS 7’S QUEEN DIVA. I WILL MISS HER DEARLY.

Leave a Reply

