A Pumpkin Lover At Heart

pumpkinSo a couple of weeks ago at the end of our 6PM Newscast you may recall Jay and Chris making fun of me because I love “all things” pumpkin.  Seriously, if it has pumpkin in it…I”m sold.  That’s probably the thing I love most about not just fall but October.  To me, it’s the month where you get the green light to pull out the pumpkin recipes.

I have a killer pumpkin recipe for soup (Thanks to my former weekend producer here at WDBJ7 Alex Lawson).

Pumpkin Latte’s – I leave that up to Starbucks but at this rate I should take out stock in the company and make them pay me.

I’m still working on Pumpkin Cheesecake – though Olive Garden’s is not just Sensational but “Sin”sational.  (But it still can’t top my mother’s pumpkin pie!)

And thanks to a viewer…I have a new pumpkin dessert to add to my collection and this one according to Ronn is low-cal.

Take a yellow cake mix, add 1 egg, 1 stick butter
pat in greased 13 x  9 baking pan

Preheat oven to 350

Mix in this order

1- 8 ounce cream cheese
2 eggs
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 stick butter…melted
1 box powdered sugar
1- 15 ounce can pumpkin
add cinnamon and nutmeg to your liking
mix well and pour over cake mix in pan
Bake 40-50 minutes…middle will be somewhat gooey.

 I can’t wait to try this one!

One response to “A Pumpkin Lover At Heart

  1. Kathy Bennington

    I too love pumpkin. As soon as the weather starts to get a chill in the air , I crave it. Thought you might like this…everyone who tries it can’t get enough!!!

    Pumpkin Dip

    1 15oz can pure pumpkin
    1 8oz cream cheese, softened
    2 cups confectioners sugar
    spices to taste…nutmeg, cinnamon, cloves, etc

    Mix together. May be a bit lumpy if cream cheese is not softened enough.

    Eat with ginger snaps!!!! mmmmm good
    I have also heard of eating with vanilla wafers or graham grackers but the ginger snaps are the best.

    Hope you enjoy this as much as we do!!

Leave a Reply

