My Night at the Emmy’s

What a wonderful weekend it’s been.   I had the priveledge of going to the National Academy of Television Arts And Sciences Regional Emmy Awards on Saturday.                    

My sister Courtney helped me get ready (She's the best!)

My sister Courtney helped me get ready (She's the best!)

The weekend crew here at WDBJ7 was nominated for Best Weekend Newscasts and guess what?  WE WON! 

Just finished getting ready at my friends' apartment in Arlington

Just finished getting ready at my friends' apartment in Arlington

It is the stations first Regional Emmy ever and boy it is well deserved by all the people who work so hard here and NOT just on the weekends. 

Talk about one fancy party!  The Ritz Carlton – oh yes!  About 250-300 journalists and their spouses in one room enjoying the perks of what many times can be an “unappreciated profession.” 

 The highlight came when Oprah Winfrey took the stage.  Only about seven people I’m told knew she was coming to honor her former co-anchor Mr. Richard Sher.                                                           

The second highlight of the night...dessert.  Anyone who knows me knows I have a MAJOR sweet tooth!

The second highlight of the night...dessert. Anyone who knows me knows I have a MAJOR sweet tooth!

One minute we were watching a slideshow of old clips of the two of them..the next there she was.  I was sitting so close when she took the stage (but no…she didn’t even blink my way). 

Oprah is less than 300 feet away from my table!

Oprah is less than 300 feet away from my table!

I could go on and on and on…but I hear the exit music playing in the background.  I just want to be sure to send a shout out to Jay Webb (who is so deserving of this award) and Travis Wells (who as anchoring sports during the newscasts we won for last February).  Also, (my much missed former producer) Alex Lawson who is now working in the same capacity at Fox in New York and Matt Moran (our brilliant associate producer). 
My News Director Amy Morris and Senior Reporter Joe Dashiell

My News Director Amy Morris and Senior Reporter Joe Dashiell

To all of the reporters who worked during this crazy day last February when we were nominated Joe Dashiell, Tim Saunders and Justin McCleod – THANK YOU! 

 

      

This thing is heavy but who's complaining?

This thing is heavy but who's complaining?

Last but not least, to all of the folks behind the scenes who really make this show happen especially on the weekends when we’re a skeleton crew as is.  I would call you all out by name but don’t want to miss anyone (director, camera op’s, graphics/audio person(s), master control ….you  know who you are)  – my deepest gratitude for what you do and congrats!

 

Leave a Reply

