My LITTLE Secret

Let me let you in on my little secret.  So I’m not as tall as I look on TV.  People tell me that all the time!  Guess what?  phone bookYou’re right.  I take after my mother in that department.  I’m only 5 foot 1 AND a half, and listen, DON’T forget that ½, it’s pretty important! Normally, I wear  two to three inch heels and that adds a few more inches but not many.  So what is?  Why do I look taller, even when I’m sitting down on TV?  Well, the answer to my little secret is simple.  When I’m standing in the newsroom or studio, I’m usually standing on a wooden box.  It adds about five extra inches!  When I’m sitting at the anchor desk, my little secret… a phonebook!  Yes, I sit on a phone book. I’ve been doing it every since I started here at WDBJ7.  Part of the reason is because I have really good posture and the chairs we use always make me feel like I’m sinking.  (A side note… my friends make fun of the way I drive my car because I sit so straight.)  The other reason I sit on the phonebook is to obviously add height (Jay Webb and Chris Miles can make you felt a bit like a midget).  People around here used to look at me cross-eyed when I started doing it.  Then, about a month later I came in on the weekend and a lady from our production crew had taped the phone book all around with duct tape to make it sturdier for me (thanks Jan)!  And guess what?  Since then…other people around here have started sitting on the yellow pages too! (We keep it under the anchor desk – along with a handheld mirror Joy Sutton broke – did you catch that mornin’ show?)  I won’t tell you who else sits on the phone book…because I’m only allowed to let you in on my little secret.  Hey, there’s no shame in my game!

One response to “My LITTLE Secret

  1. If you’re talking about Jean Jadhon, it’s no secret that she’s also not exactly towering over her co-workers.

Leave a Reply

