New Year, New Resolutions

In 2008 the three most popular resolutions were:

  1. LOSE WEIGHT (not hard to guess that)
  2. PAY OFF DEBT (not hard to guess that either)
  3. QUIT SMOKING

I’m sure mostly all of these will top the most popular list again in 2009 (especially number two given the crappy economy).  But I’ve also added some other goals to my list.  People who I’ve told so far look at me like I’m a nerd when I share the first one…but the truth is…I KIND OF AM.

So what are my new resolutions?  Well first, I’m planning to learn a new vocabulary word every other week.  I love words – always have. Improving my vocab might not seem so outlandish since I am a journalist.  But the truth is when we write and talk (especially in TV) we can’t be too flamboyant, we often have to “dumb-it-down” so all of our viewers can relate.  We’re trained to be conversational and so basically, this is something I’m doing to improve myself.  By the way…my first word is Caitiff (know what that means?)

Another resolution…STOP procrastinating!  I don’t know when I turned into such a procrastinator.  I haven’t always been that way.  I put off calling people back, responding to emails, working on personal projects…you name it…for some reason I can’t help but to wait until the last minute and then have the nerve to complain that I’m stressed!  Humm? So to all my co-workers (here’s a warning), you’ll probably see a lot more sticky notes and lists around my desk. My refrigerator will have them too!

Finally, last year I made a promise to myself that I would travel three places I’ve never been before (I am happy to report I successfully met that goal).  This year…I want to take up tennis.  It was either that or golf and tennis won out (anything to burn off the calories after all).

Now let’s see if I can stick to all these along with lose weight and pay off my debt.  I’ll report back to you mid-year.  If you have any unique resolutions, I’d love to hear them.

Leave a Reply

