ALL NAT-UR-AL!

Here I am sportin' my natural do on vacation

Here I am sportin’ my natural do on vacation

Last week, Rhonda Lee, a meteorologist in Shreveport, Louisiana was fired after she responded to an offensive comment made on her stations website.  It specifically had to do with her short “ethnic” hair.

I’ve addressed my thoughts on viewers who write malicious emails attacking anchors/reporters in past blogs,  so I won’t do that today. What I do want to address is the hair thing.

I for one commend Lee for wearing her natural hair on television because the truth is, I have been to chicken to do it.  I’m still one of dozens of black anchors who goes through the long tedious process of getting my hair “blown-out” each week at the salon.  I let the perm go a long time ago in attempt for a healthier coiffure.  I love my natural hair.  I love the easiness of it. I love the curls. I even love when it turns into an Afro.  Usually, when I’m off of work for a week, you’ll catch me going natural.

Last year, I surprised my co-workers with my natural do at our annual Christmas party.  I was preparing for a huge OMG moment on their part, but I got so many compliments.  In fact, my general manager encouraged me to sport the look every now and then on the anchor desk.  When he said that, my jaw dropped…honestly it did!  The truth is, while the WDBJ7 staff was more than receptive, I don’t think all of our viewers would be.  Call me a coward, but I just haven’t been willing to deal with the negativity and nasty comments it could create.  At least not so far.  I will tell you, I’m seriously thinking about it.  One day you might turn on WDBJ7 and see Hollani Davis all NAT-UR-AL!

18 responses to “ALL NAT-UR-AL!

  1. Beautiful! Sport what makes you comfortable. Your audience should embrace your ability to be professional yet stylish and classy! Just a thought…

  2. Who cares what others think?? I know thats hard to get past but you must be yourself. Try it, if you get alot of negative, I’m sure there will be more positive to outway the “I refuse to go outside the box” peoples comments. Hope that makes sense because it does in my head :) Go for it-you will never know until you try it!! Good Luck!!

  3. Be yourself! You go for it, Hollani!

  4. I say, go for it! You are a beautiful person and should be “you”, your fans will still be there :)

  5. Do it Hollani!! Its sad that in this day and age “we” still have to try and fit the mold, I completely understand and I commend you for thinking about taking the steps to rock your fro! They’ll get over it :-)

  6. Looking good, go for the gusto!

  7. Be who YOU are and be happy in your own skin….or hair! LOL! I love the natural look on you….you look amazing! If people don’t like it then that’s their problem not yours and to those who would dare to make comments – well they were just looking for an excuse to spew their unfounded hate!

  8. Hollani, you are excellent at what you do and your hair style should make no difference. How dare anyone for thinking otherwise! Do what makes you comfortable and keep up the good work!

  9. I’ve been wearing my hair natural for a little over 2 years. It was a freeing experience to let go of the curlling irons, hair dryers, & the LONG salon visits, not to mention, just being able to get up & go is great. I am pulling for you & hoping you surprise us one day with your natural. I understand completely that it may not be easily accepted by viewers but at the end of the day, your hair isn’t what makes you who you are or what you do. Go for it! I’m behind you 100 %

  10. I say go for it! My extensions are ready to come out soon and I will be joining the natural club!

  11. Patricia Robertson

    Go for it, my daughters talked me into after years of going through the hassle of finding the right person to do my hair. I’m 62 and I used to wear it natural in the early 60′s, 70′s. and 80′s. So it is still cool.

  12. Freddie Tomlinson

    Remember now this is still America.Dont care what others think as long as it makes you happy.

  13. I think you were brave to post the all natural pic. You go girl! I too go through the blow out process or relaxer and either is a long pain in the butt process.

    Back to Rhonda Lee… I can’t believe she got fired over this. *sighs*

  14. I like it.

  15. I love it, way too much focus on hair. I say keep it natural !

  16. I think your hair looks awesome and am glad you feel confident to sport it on television! AND your hair will thank you for this hair-healthy option. You go girl!!

  17. 70′s throw back…looks terrible! You can do better, more professional, more fitting of your position in the community and your profession.

Leave a Reply

