Watch out! Poop in the Pool

I finally had a chance to hang out at Roanoke County’s Splash Valley this past Memorial Day weekend.  Splash Valley is our premier outdoor water park.  I however, was truly hanging out on the sideline.  I have a bit of a phobia about public swimming pools.  In fact, a 9-year-old asked me why I wasn’t swimming and I told him “because little kids love to pee in the pool”.  He thought that was the most hilarious thing in the world.  That is until, lifeguards cleared everyone out of the pool because someone pooped in it!  Yes Pooped!  I think they called it a “Bio-Hazard”.  Now, I’m sure it was a little kid who didn’t mean to do Number 2, and while I laugh every time I think about it, it’s quite gross.

Then lo and behold, the Huffington Post printed a study this week that 1 in 5 Americans admit to peeing in the pool!  Really, I wasn’t surprised, but it confirms my suspicions all along.  So happy Summer!  Bring on the swimming and bring on the chlorine!

3 responses to “Watch out! Poop in the Pool

  1. Well way to take away all my family’s summer fun! LOL!! Gross! But happened to us when we went on vacation last summer. Everytime we went to the resort’s pool every single day people had to be cleared out because a diaper leaked. No doubt I’ve always known about people and kids urinating in the pool but really didnt’ need to hear the stats! Isn’t the purpose of all those chemicals in the pool is to kill the germs from those that have an “accident”? Its still gross though. My favorite pool quote is “Have fun in our OOL; notice there is no “P” in our pool – please keep it that way!”

  2. Mz Kitti Wright

    WELL! WELL! WELL! AS AN EX~LIFEGUARD…IT IS TRULY KNOW (LOL) THAT CHLORINE KILLS GERMS. WHY DO YOU THINK EVERYBODY COMES OUT OF THE POOL WITH RED EYES & ASHY. (LOL).
    Yes…once in awhile we have experienced turd~subs & OMGosh! What’s That! But for safety…we have learn how to exposed. & clean~up (w/the CLEAN~UP CREW, EXPERTS) & RESOLVE THE ISSUE. (“?/:)! So enjoy the fun & splash~it~up guys…..ITS POOL TIME.

  3. Hollani,
    Congratulations on being named news anchor. Glad to see you’re doing so well.
    cheers,
    Shirley Alford

Leave a Reply

